Being Proud of Doodle Face

Whoa this semester is crazy. So much homework, so much reading, and so little time for Sebastian. I am making a point to enjoy Sebastian for this final semester. I want to be sad…giving him up and all, but thinking about how sad that day will be only makes me enjoy him less now. Every time I get sad, I feel like I’m being selfish. He was never meant to be mine…he is meant to change someones life…and letting him go to do that should not be something I dread.  So, for now, I’m focusing on the happy… plus it helps that I have him for four more months!

I have been so proud of Sebastian this semester. Everytime I say that to someone they say I should be proud of myself….but no…really….I’m proud of him. He holds a down stay in yoga class for 50 minutes with me at a distance. He is doing better with skateboards. When we walk into a class room he starts to situate himself under the desk before I even get seated. He is finally starting to grow up and actually think about what I want from him.

This is a big deal because when I got Sebastian he had no idea how to learn, nor did he have any desire to simply please me. He worked for treat, ball, and the occasional face rub. As a dog trainer, I have always believed that the most important thing for a dog to know, is how to learn or think. Once this is down, you can teach them just about anything. It took forever with Sebastian, but I finally think that after nine months, I have taught Sebastian how to think/learn. Everything new thing I introduce is coming so easily, and he is just working better overall.

Last Saturday we went to a basketball game here at UNCW. I was very nervous about taking Bass, but he really surprised me. We sat in the student section (you know…with all the crazy people) and Bass just laid there with his head down through all the screaming, stomping, and goodness knows what else. People always tell me how impressed they are with his good behavior in public, but that is just what I expect. It does not impress me…it’s how a service dog should act. But his behavior at the basketball game actually impressed me. I was pretty proud of the little guy.

No new pictures…just a few of Sebastian being as cute as possible.

Oh Hi

His front feet look so regal when they point outwards

As cute as they come :)...I'm only a little biased

One response »

Leave a comment